top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLacy Szuwalski

Conscious Consequences

Updated: Mar 10, 2021

In 2014, I made a New Year’s Resolution to always use reusable bags when shopping. It doesn't matter if I am buying clothes, groceries, or whatever else you buy, I put in my own bag.

If I arrive to a checkout line and realize I don’t have my bag, I give myself a consequence.

If my bag is in my truck, I leave my items and walk out to get my bag. If I forgot to put my bag in my truck, I use a shopping basket to take my items out to my truck, unload the items, and then I walk the shopping basket back into the store.


I knew I was committed to this cause when this happened at Target. I had forgotten my bag completely. It wasn’t in my truck. It was at home. I asked the clerk to load the items back into the basket and promised that I would walk it back inside. She looked at me a bit confused and then told me that the baskets weren’t allowed outside and that they had sensors on them.


I explained that I couldn’t take a plastic bag and that the alarm would just have to go off.

She surely thought I was crazy, but let me go about my ways. I marched through the gates and waved as the alarm squawked.


I smiled as I unloaded the items into my truck. I may be crazy, but I’m a girl with a mission. I consciously consume and am willing to suffer consequences, even somewhat embarrassing ones, to make my mission succeed. #protect

34 views0 comments
bottom of page