top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLacy Szuwalski

When There's a Will, There's a Way

Reducing Plastic One Conversation at a Time

Many years ago, I created a New Year's resolution to no longer accept plastic bags in my life. With the wake of the world pandemic, there has been a flux in the usage of plastic bags. However, I have held true to my resolution and have tried to improve upon it by not accepting plastic to go containers as well.

Saying No to Plastic Takes Communication

When I first call a restaurant and tell them that I only want to place a to go order if they are willing to comply with my demands, they think I'm crazy. I don't say it quite like that, but that's ultimately my message. It's usually something like this, "Hi, I would like to place a to go order, but I only want to place it if you put my food on a plate and not in a plastic container. I will bring my own container and transfer the food into my container." There is usually a moment of a silence as they try to figure out exactly what I am requesting, but as they start to get it, they begin to work with me and understand the plastic that they're using.


For instance, last night... I had taken the afternoon off and decided the rest of my Friday was going to be a "me" day. I was going to spoil myself and that meant ordering Thai food for dinner. I called my favorite Thai restaurant and began the spiel above. They have heard it before, so I was not met with the normal hesitation. Instead, the woman asked "What about the peanut sauce?" (In a prior experience, after my spiel of no plastic I got all of the food on a plate, but they still gave me the sauce in a plastic container, so this question was heavenly.) I asked her to put it in a normal bowl and I would transfer it to my container as well and also ensured they wouldn't be wrapping my winter rolls in plastic (another previous plastic encounter that had me shaking my head.)


Last night, the no plastic food order went off without a hitch. Sure, simply calling the restaurant and placing my order would have been much easier, but Earth is my bud. I love Earth and am willing to go through the awkward conversations to help protect it.


I encourage you to join me in conversations of reducing plastic. If the grocery store says you can't use your own bags inside the store, say, "Okay, I'll load my groceries back up in the cart and bag them outside." If the restaurant you call doesn't comply with your no plastic demands, say, "Okay thank you for your consideration," and call the next restaurant. Saying no to plastic takes will. May we all find a way to help reduce the plastic in our lives.


49 views0 comments
bottom of page