top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLacy Szuwalski

Worm Smoothies

Giving Back to the Earth One Smoothie at a Time

No worms were harmed in the making of this smoothie. In fact, many worms were fed. I wish I could take credit for "worm smoothies", but this idea came straight from my mama.


Since I can remember, my mom has always enjoyed poking around the garden and growing plants. She most certainly has a green thumb and I often go to her for advice on how to take care of my plants. It was my mom who inspired me to start composting.


I mostly eat a plant-based diet, so I produce a ton of vegetable and fruit food waste.

I complained to my mom about how long it took for me to chop all of my fruit and veggie scraps to compost and she said, "Dear daughter, make a worm smoothie!"

The Process

  1. Collect your food scraps. (I store mine in my fridge. No, they don't smell. The longest I've gone before making a smoothie with my scraps is approximately 3 weeks. Yes, those food scraps got a bit of mold. I recommend choosing a "smoothie day". I make mine on Sundays.)

  2. Toss them into the blender and add water. (I fill the blender 3/4 of the way full with food scraps and half the way full with water.)

  3. Blend that baby up!

  4. Find a spot outdoors. Dig a hole approximately 6 inches and add a cup or two of the smoothie. Cover with soil. Spread the love in many places throughout your flower beds/garden.

  5. Watch your soil transform and worms delight!

What Can Go In Your Worm Smoothie?

I keep my worm smoothies simple. I only put fresh fruit and veggie scraps in them and when I buy flowers I blend those up when they're no longer pretty on the table. I also add egg shells to my garden that I keep in a separate container in my fridge and do not add to the smoothie. To find out what else you could blend up, type "what can be composted" into a Google search. :)


If you decide to make a worm smoothie, I'd love to hear about it in the comments below. Cheers to worms with full bellies.

39 views1 comment
bottom of page